The Dead Battery Will Not Win

10/23/16

Ya know that thing where technology tries to ruin your day, so you have to remind yourself that you’re a human and superior to all man made devices and can overcome anything?! No? Let me explain..

My roommates and I had made plans to go to Phoenix on Sunday afternoon to shoot some dance videos. Miquella goes to school at ASU’s Downtown Campus and knew of several places around the city with cool backgrounds that would be great for filming, and Meredith has a nice camera and experience making videos like this. So our plan was set! We woke up on Sunday morning got dressed and ready to go, and then disaster struck.

The evil forces of technology had tried to destroy humanity. Right before we were going to leave, we looked down at the camera, and although we thought it had been charging all night, it had no battery. We had no way to film. I had gotten out of bed and put on makeup (ew) all for nothing.

Disappointed, we just kinda shrugged our shoulders and said we’d do it another day. But after 5 minutes of walking around the house not knowing what to do with the rest of our morning, I thought, “there is no good reason to waste such a beautiful Sunday being bummed.” So we all decided that it would be fun to go to Phoenix and just find something to do. And what a great idea that was!img_0289

We drove to the city and looked at all of the graffiti walls and murals around campus that Miq had told us about and talked about which spots we wanted to use when we came back to film. We also had fun doing little photo shoots as we walked around.

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetThen we remembered that this weekend was the Phoenix Zine Fest! We drove over and had a blast! A zine fest is kinda like a small craft fair except instead of pottery and handmade jewelry and things like that, it was comics and art and music and obviously lots of zines-which are pretty much just mini magazines. So many talented artists and writers were there displaying their work, and I’m so glad I had the opportunity to see it! I got almost all of my Christmas shopping done and bought some rad stuff for myself including a mix CD of local artists from Yuma, AZ (SUPPORT LOCAL MUSIC), some books of art, a couple zines, and stickers! Some of my personal favorite publications I found were from Emily Joy, an artist who makes really intricate, psychedelic-looking prints, Left Over Pieces who have books and zines of poetry, and Kelsie Coker, an artist whose work is all black and white and has a really nice minimalist aesthetic- she also had some dope tattoos that had a really similar vibe to her art.img_0260

I had such a great time not only reading and shopping, but getting to talk to the artists and hear about their inspirations and the purposes behind their work. I really love getting the opportunity to hear about how people  think about their own creative processes and what motivates them to put their work into the world and be vulnerable enough to share their gifts with others.

To finish off the day, we went to get ice cream at a small little shop called Melt. If you live in Phoenix, check this place out. I got a scoop of Blueberry Moofin, and this scoop of ice cream was second only to Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream, which is my all time favorite and also not sold in the state of Arizona.Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

So I think the lesson learned is that next time my computer breaks down or my phone dies or my camera doesn’t charge, I should look at it as an opportunity to go out, explore my city, and embrace a beautiful new day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

